Food Discovery of the Season.

Image

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free oats cooked with almond butter, strawberries, and chia seeds added.

Strawberries are good in oatmeal? Yes, they’re so good! ..and this is my food discovery of the season. Some of you may be going “duh, I’ve been adding strawberries to my oatmeal for years. This is no big discovery”. Well it is for me. The farmer’s market has been having some sweet, dark, juicy organic strawberries lately and I haven’t been able to resist them. Luckily, the strawberries will be around all summer getting sweeter and juicier!

The other day I added sliced strawberries to my oatmeal and discovered that they add this wonderful sweet dimension to the breakfast. When you take a bite, the strawberry livens up the oatmeal (which can sometimes be dry and bland). I love to add almond butter for a little extra protein and fat (which helps to stave off hunger a little longer) and then chia seeds for added protein, fiber, and Omega-3 fatty acids!

Leave a comment